I have to admit I’m fascinated with the masks all along the store fronts in Isla Mujeres.  They are colorful and just a bit scary! I decided I had to have one after I learned their true meaning.  Yes, that’s me behind the mask.

Boo!

Boo!

The Mexican culture embraces death. So much so that they dedicate a whole week of festivities around it.  It begins on October 28 and ends with a national holiday on November 2nd.   During this celebration, it is believed that the deceased have divine permission to visit friends and relatives on earth and enjoy once again the pleasures of life. Mexicans visit the graves of families and friends and bring colorful flowers and offerings of food.

Now I understand why there were glasses and pictures and food at the graveyard we visited. It is a joyous, celebration of life, rather than a sober mourning of its passing.

