I’ve been sailing for at least fifteen years.  Only once, in that time, did I get seasick.  I just don’t.  So, when the Women on “Women who sail” facebook page started a thread about getting seasick, I should have stayed out of the conversation but I put in my two cents.  Now although I’m not talking from experience, I have a good friend who gets VERY seasick and she has tried everything.  The only thing that worked for her was “one” ear plug in her dominate ear, bingo, no more sea sickness.  I passed that information along never realizing that very soon, I would be searching for an ear plug for my own dominate ear.

We left Fort Myers Beach on Thursday, December 4th after waiting for weeks for a weather window.  Our weather router, Chris Parker said that he didn’t see anything in the future with the exception of this Thursday but it wasn’t perfect.  With that information we set out.

Let’s just say that everything started off pleasant with the wind to our backs and can you say FOLLOWING SEAS.  Soon as the wind began to grow stronger and the waves began to build, Firefly began this corkscrew motion.  Oh my!  We began making good time but to what expense?  I couldn’t sleep during Carl’s first watch and I was due on from 9:00 to 12:00.  I stood my watch but during that time the queasy feeling came on.  At 12:00 I tried to sleep again but I soon knew that wasn’t going to happen.  That’s when I remembered the ear plug.  I found one and promptly placed it in my right ear…magic!  However, the damage had been done because I had no sleep and already felt haggard.  My next watch was 3:00 to 6:00.  I made it to 5:30 before I had to call Carl up to take over.  By that time, I knew if something needed attention, I would not be able to give it my best.  It was at that point that I finally fell asleep.  Two hours later, I was up and feeling better.

We pulled into the Dry Tortugas for a day of rest before starting our track across the Southern Gulf Stream and because Chris said to wait one more day before crossing.  This will put us just North of Cuba where we will follow the coastline to the Yucatan, cross that channel and head to Isla Mujeres.

